Being a French Open ball girl isn’t easy.
During a third-round match at Roland Garros, a Japanese doubles player was disqualified after inadvertently hitting a ball girl with a ball she had flicked towards the back of the court. The ball girl began to sob, which escalated the situation.
— Telegraph Sport (@TelegraphSport) June 5, 2023
— Vito Tjahyadi (@vitotjahyadi) June 4, 2023
Despite receiving a warning from the umpire, the player’s opponents lobbied for them to be disqualified. The French Open referee eventually disqualified the pair, prompting boos from the crowd. The decision has caused controversy due to a lack of consistency in applying the rule, as a Russian teenager had avoided disqualification the day before despite angrily hitting the ball into the stands.
The player who hit the ball girl apologized on Twitter and forfeited her prize money and points.